Simple Blackberry Cobbler (recipe)


For as far back as I can remember, every few weeks – there has been a fresh blackberry cobbler in my life 🙂 When we lived on the farm in Missouri – blackberries grew wild on our property and oh my were they good! Huge plump sweet purple nuggets of Heaven I tell ya! My Mom made cobblers (of all kinds) in an old 9 x 13 aluminum pan – I think she preferred cobblers for the same reason I do – they don’t have to be pretty – they just have to be good.  It doesn’t matter what you put in them or what you use as a vessel really, just as long as it bakes up golden and the fruit is sweet. So, along those lines of thinking – I decided to try one in my Nana’s old iron skillet! PERFECT! Nothing looks more wholesome or old-fashioned as it does when pulled out of the oven in a piping hot black iron skillet… including blackberry cobbler.

I have tweaked the recipe just a tad – where the crust is concerned – so that busy folks like us can enjoy a cobbler more often and without the mess and fuss. I hope you enjoy it too! Be sure to let me know how yours turns out!

OLD FASHIONED BLACKBERRY COBBLER:

Ingredients;

  • 5-6 cups ripe, washed blackberries (fresh is best but the frozen ones aren’t bad)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup half & half – or cream – whichever you prefer
  • 1 package (2 crusts) Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts

Mix the berries, 1/2 & 1/2, and sugar in a large mixing bowl – let sit. I used an 11″ deep iron skillet – but a 9 x 9 baking dish works just as good. Press one crust on the bottom of your skillet/dish forming around the shape of the bottom.  Pour berries into skillet/dish on top of crust. Lay top crust on berries and form to the edges. Cut vents in the top crust.  Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes – until crust is golden brown and the cobbler is bubbling.

Cobblers are best served after they have had a chance to cool off from SUPER HOT to JUST WARM – it gives the juices time to thicken a bit… but by all means – if you can’t wait – throw a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top and go for it!!

4 Comments

Filed under Discover Fabulous Favs, Recipes

4 responses to “Simple Blackberry Cobbler (recipe)

  1. Crystal Miller

    Looks yummy! My favorite are Cherry (and we would pick them fresh from my Grannies tree), and my most VERY VERY favorite are PEACH! Love them!

    • I like cherry and peach too – peach is Ric’s fav 🙂 Making them in the iron skillet causes the bottom crust and edges to get really crisp!! YUM!!!
      Let me know if you try it! Thanks for the comment!

  2. I don’t normally eat Blackberries but this cobbler really turned out nice on your post

Leave a Reply

